Friday, 27 March 2026

Movie Review: Hoppers

 

Hello hello everyone, my name is Anthony and welcome everyone to my very first Movie Review in 2026.

Well okay, I know its been three months that I wanted to get started, but I was stuck in 2025 for remaining films how desperate I was to see some of my wishful films that I want to see. But don’t worry, its all settled and lets move on, il learn my mistake next time. Anyway, what better way to kick things off for this year? (aside that I missed Markiplier’s Iron Lung, which il save it later when its available digitally) By going back to our old friend, Pixar, to gave us their new movie less than a year later after their underwhelming film, Elio.

“Hoppers” is a 2026 animated sci-fi adventure comedy film that was written/directed by Daniel Chong, produced by Nicole Paradis Grindle, and co-written by Jesse Andrews.

Back in pre-mid-2015, Daniel Chong was hired as a story artist in several studios like Pixar’s Cars 2 and Inside Out, Illumination’s The Lorax and the craptacular Free Birds. But at the same year as the release of Inside Out, he created “We Bare Bears” in 2015 to 2019, which it became a popular show back in 2010’s fascinating year in Cartoon Network. But then in December of 2020, after finishing his show and “We Bare Bears: The Movie”, he announced he came back to Pixar to building up his passion project, along with working the writer of Luca, Jesse Andrews, joined in. In their idea, they said its gonna be an inspiration from animal documentaries, but with robot animals in the wildlife with animals, but with sci-fi twist and action. Basically what they said, imagine Avatar and Mission Impossible merging together, but with wild animals for kids.


So, with all that said, will the experimental human minds into robot animals will fit in to help the wild animals, or is this feel like rocket science gone horribly wrong?

Well, lets find out.


The Story

When it comes to the plot about natures vs humanity, its actually pretty complex for its depth, but it wants to have fun from the get-go.

The movie begins from the past (cause of course) in the city Beaverton, we introduce our main protagonist, Mabel Tanaka, back in her childhood, she wants to bringing wild animals from her school for free will, but not before she got caught and scolded from her school, this is mainly due to she likes to spend time with her grandma in her home located at nearby the forest glade, in order to be calm and watch and feel the ambiance and peaceful to see the wild animals like beavers. Fast forward to the present time, she lives in her grandma’s home to stay with her childhood glade after her grandma sadly passed away. But the downside is that she’ll never get to see her familiar wild animals, this is due to the mayor of Beaverton named Jerry Generazzo, where his goal is to take down the glade for the plan of Freeway, much to both dismay and disgust from Mabel that she became not just a nature appreciation, but also activist in attempt to have a petition to take down the Freeway, but didn’t get any support to everyone in Beaverton, especially her college studies has been draining that she got disapproved to biology professor Dr. Sam Fairfax. It wasn’t until Mabel sees a beaver in the forest, but it goes into the university from the secret room, revealing that Dr. Sam and her colleagues are experimenting their new technology called “Hoppers” where they created a robot of a wild animal to putting human’s mind into the replica of wild animal. But after gets caught and learned about the project, Mabel saw this as an opportunity to put herself into the experiment to “hops” her mind into the same robot beaver for her escape and eventually communicating wild animals to learning what they’re doing. Its up to Mabel, in a robot beaver, to find the way to save the wildlife (mainly her childhood glade) against the Freeway, as long it doesn’t have to be a death threat against either humanity or animals.

At first, it makes you think its another one of those nature vs humans or technology story, its similar plot as the aforementioned Avatar as Chong said during the making of this movie, which is easily understandable, but it has a pretty nice execution to add more depth, like thought-provoking story, the messages, and even the humors (You take notes, James Cameron, huh? Huh??). The message is no stranger that its all about be reasonable and protect the wildlife in the name of peace against human consumption like the setup of Freeway, though its not the first time we’ve heard about plot about campaign against the Freeway, like say, “Who Framed Roger Rabbit”. Its quite of big deal since we’ve seen plenty of forest has been torn down for not just freeway, but also homes like condos and job apartments like stores, restaurants and others, much to dismay to the wild animals in the forest. Sure, the similar plot of Avatar is there, but again, at least it has a nice execution for creating robot animals with human consciousness to save wildlife rather than going on war, not to mention that’s all about be peaceful to cancel without posing a threat of assassination on the mayor, which of course, there is a plot twist villain, which is another plot twist cliché, but has good kind of twist, but I won’t give further details from SPOILERS. As for the humors, I will say, the humors of this movie is chuckle worthy like how King George demonstrate the world building of the wildlife that he rules with his delivery, the incoming timing with the worm getting eaten, even constant argument between Mabel and Jerry between saving nature and Freeway (at least its a showcase joke, kind of like Family guy), which is common, but at least they didn’t take it seriously. Not to mention with the humors is also being self-aware from either referencing to the aforementioned Avatar (because Duh), how the wildlife works and the unlikely communication between humans and animals. However, if there’s a problem for this movie is the first act, the movie just starts out rather rushed for Mabel’s origin story before we’re going to both against Freeway and the Hoppers experiment, its just like the same problem as Zootopia 2’s first act.

While the first act is rather a rocky start, but the rest gets better for the thought-provoking plots, the messages, an understandable similar plot with good executions and a chuckle worthy humors.


The Animation

The movie’s budget costed $150M, which is yet another Pixar’s low budget film much like Elio. But unlike last year, I noticed the setup for Pixar to having two movies in a year unlike last year, they treated Hoppers as an appetizer, while the upcoming Toy Story 5 is the equivalent of the main dish. But to be fair, for low-budget appetizer, at least it looks pretty nice.

For starter, the background for taking place both the city like Beaverton and the forest are… Dare I say, pretty average, they’re just standard setting as what you expect. But it doesn’t mean its boringly average, they did their best for some creative setting like the home of council in the dam, the quality and even the ambiance when Mabel wants to relax in her forest glade.

For the designs, the humans are also standard for either average or some cartoony designs, but at least I can give an appreciation that, either be normal or go crazy when the humor kicks in based on either the action scenes or the delivery. But the wild animals on the other hands, they’re actually pretty good and cute, sure the design may or may not look real, but they’re so adorable for how round and colorful they are, especially with some details. Its as if the designs of We Bare Bears comes to life in CG, I know its weird thing to describe, but what do you expect for a movie being directed by the guy who gave us a memorable show about the bears in CN.

But I think the best part for the designs in this movie, are the animals expression and the communication based on different perspective. When we’re in human, the animals expression are normal like black dot eyes or typical animal noises, its simple and kind of realistic. But once we’re hoping into robot animal, this is where the animals get their true colors of their expression with cartoon eyes and talk like humans. At first for the latter, I was confused how’s that work, but its only if we’re transported human conscious into robot animal for communication, which it would make sense, unless there’s a missing tool that we can translate from animal language outside of animal replicant. It may not be as highly revolution, but il give credit for their creativity.

As for the animation, like I mentioned for the story, it starts out slow that the animation are good and standard, but once we get to the second act and the climax, boy it gets interesting to have a montage of demonstrating wild animals in the forest, the building dam with beavers while playing “Working for the Weekend” by Loverboy (gotta love the 80s song to building a dam with beavers, eh?), and of course, the climatic chase in the risk of death or worse, having a robot animal go “BOOM!” when crashing (Jeez, what kind of machine it contains?).

Despite the background is average at best, but its the animation and the designs are the best part of animation for how they crafted and the creativity from different perspectives.


The Characters

While the writing of the story is pretty good, we expecting the characters could be memorable too? Well, I think so, both how they developed and a fun voice performances.

Lets start off with our main protagonist, Mabel Tanaka (voiced by Piper Curda), a Japanese-American animal lover and college student who likes live with Glade for not just seeing the animals in the forest, but also due to her personal history from her beloved grandma, making her becoming rebellious against Mayor Jerry to prevent the planning Freeway. I find her to be pretty fascinating character and somewhat relatable, we can feel that we want to save something important from our beloved grandparents from our childhood without ruined by city consumption or using violence as the answer from the councils. Not only she’s somewhat relatable that we want to keep something safe due to personal history and deep meaning, but she’s quite curious, enjoyable, energetic and caring with the animals that I find her quite possibly memorable, and Piper kicks ass her performance in energy.

Next up, we have King George (voiced by Bobby Moynihan), the monarch of the beavers and the King of Mammals who shows Mabel about the building in the forest who sees himself as an optimistic to follow the set of pond rules to the animals in the forest, especially for being a plot development to teach Mabel about the whole forest, the animals, the aforementioned pond rules and providing lessons about trusts. Though he can be a flawed king when it comes to handling or delivering the rules, but he does have a nice chemistry with Mabel to understand about the forest and the issue about the upcoming freeway, even if he’s gotta realizing this due to being blocked by a fake tree with possibly a high pitch frequency. Though he’s nowhere perfect to be the king, but at least he’s kind, optimistic and also enjoyable to gives us the lesson and plot convenience in order to understand why Mabel wants her Glade in peace with beavers, and I think Bob did a nice work of his performance.

Next we have Jerry Generazzo (played by Jon Hamm, aka Sentinel Prime from Transformers One), the mayor of Beaverton for his plan to building the freeway for reelection. You may think that he must be the main antagonist of this movie for his plan of freeway without Mabel’s consent for placed on her glade due to her personal history with her beloved grandma. I mean okay, he maybe villainous that, kinda like mayors, senators or politicians, he always think he’s a perfect mayor that he’s in the right with everyone support him, while also being oblivious about the cause based on, again, Mabel’s protection her glade for the sake of the wild animals. Basically, he’s kind of like the human version of Sentinel Prime, they’re both similar how they’re written, but the difference is, while Sentinel is self-proclaimed hero in Cybertron without acknowledging the major problem for being the leader of Iacon from the dark secret, Jerry on the other hand is, like leaders in towns, he chooses to extending Beaverton with freeway, while being oblivious about the cause to the forest and animals. I guess its no wonder why I saw a couple of posts that lot of people compared both Jerry and Sentinel Prime for similarities, not just for their setup, but also they’re both voiced by Jon Hamm. But to his credit, at least Jon did a good work of his role too, even if we though he’s the main villain, but not exactly, without SPOILERS.

After that, we have Dr. Sam Fairfax (voiced by Kathy Najimy), the biology professor in Beaverton University that she and her colleagues secretly experimenting the hopping technology. Like George, she also gave us plot convenience about this experiment that made Mabel as an opportunity to transfer her consciousness into robot beaver for her rebellious plan to save her glade, despite even if this is something that Dr. Sam is gotta understand about Mabel’s plan rather than overprotecting the project. Though il give credit about this experiment, but the execution is rather… flawed to explaining this, but then again, its due to rocky in the first act in the movie. Im not saying Kathy is bad, she did a nice work of her role, but its just some writing part her is kind of weak, even if she’s rather too protective for this project.

And finally, there’s the insect royal family, like The Queen (surprisingly voiced by Meryl Streep) and her son, Titus (voiced by Dave Franco), like George, they’re the council for which animal kinds, specifically, their rule for the insects. But unlike George, they’re more tyranny for their decision, mainly if its not easy to stop the humans, The Queen or Titus are choosing violence as the answer to “squish” humans, which is their term to KILL to believe animals and insects will be the top of the food chain. I know its easily predictable about The Queen and Titus, but again, not gonna give a spoiler warning whatever happens further. While Dave Franco did a surprising work of his role, along with Eman Abdul-Razzak as the younger version of Titus. But of course, Meryl Streep is an unusual pick for this role, but she did a good job as a the most recognizable actress for many ages.

As for the rest, there not much else to say, lot of them are either for plot purposes or for good humors, there's Loaf (voiced by Eduardo Franco) another beaver, despite being sluggish, but thankfully being loyal with other animals, Tom Lizard (voiced by Tom Law) is a lizard who wants to have fun rather than into drama (and somehow became viral), Ellen (voiced by Melissa Villaseñor) is a menacing bear, but just want to follow the pond rules, because she's a predator, and Nisha and Conner (voiced by Aparna Nancherla and Sam Richardson) are Dr. Sam's colleagues.

I find the voice acting are pretty good in the movie, while some characters are flawed, but i find some are enjoyable and probably memorable in this film how they're nicely written and delivered.


And now for my Final Opinion of this film.

Overall, Hoppers is actually a pretty good film to start in my experience of movies in 2026.

The animation looks great, even for being an appetizer, it has great characters, nicely done writing, the story good, the voice acting are enjoyable, it has a nice message what this movie is about.

Sure, there are some flaws like the first act was good, but rather slow, some character could've understand about the issue and the setting is too standard.

Even with the flaws, its an enjoyable film from Pixar, like probably better original Pixar film than Ellio. If you're a supporter of animals and a fan of Pixar, i'd say this out, i considered a recommended film to watch. Cause you'll have a fun time to see it like i do.

For my rating, im gonna give this one an 8.5/10.


Anyway, if you guys have your opinion or any suggestions, let me know at comment bellow and support me on KO-FI.com/blackevil.

Thanks for reading, and im Anthony, signing out.

Friday, 13 March 2026

Movie Review: Friday the 13th Part 7: The New Blood

 

Hey everyone, my name is Anthony and welcome back to my Movie Review.

Yes, im back for another Friday the 13th reviews in the actual Friday the 13th, since last month, I covered Part 6: Jason Lives, which while its a great film for bringing back Jason, but its not my cup of tea, the best one is, without a doubt, Part 4. However, by the time we went in late 80s, Paramount is in desperation following their disappointing result from Part 6, to giving us quite possibly the weirdest and highly questionable supposed crossover plan for Part 7 in today’s review.

“Friday the 13th Part 7: The New Blood” is a 1988 supernatural slasher film that was directed by the late John Carl Buechler, produced by Iain Paterson and written by Manuel Fidello and Daryl Haney.

Like I said before, due to a disappointing result on Part 6 from either becoming a franchise fatigue or being rivaled by A Nightmare on Elm Street, Paramount wanted to have a crossover film to having Jason meets Elm Street’s slasher, Freddy Krueger. However, they plan didn’t do that well due to unable to having the deal with Elm Street franchise owner, New Line Cinema (though it wouldn’t be until decades later). So it was back to the drawing board that it was originally intended to be like Jaws, according to associate producer, Barbara Sachs. But that plan was changed from our familiar executive producer, Frank Mancuso Jr, when one of the writers, Daryl Haney, came up the idea of “What if you have Jason Voorhees facing against Carrie?” Which it sounds like out of franchise at first, Sachs eventually accepts, but be more like one character be like Carrie instead of borrow the Carrie’s right. But of course, lets not forget that this is the first Friday the 13th to having Jason being played by the only repeated actor who played Jason, Kane Hodder, which he was playing Jason from Part 7 to Jason X, more on him later. The reason why Hodder was picked as Jason is thanks to being involved with the 1987 film called “Prison”.

When this movie came out with telekinesis, it didn’t go that well as they were hoped for, critics and audience, saying it feels like a downgrade compared to Part 6 and the box-office isn’t help either with earning $19.2M. Even to this day, despite it has some promising elements, but everything else was all down to the mess.

So, with all that said, can using telekinesis would be a great idea to fight Jason, or is this film being two times worse than before to destroy the mask?

Well, lets find out.


The Story

As I said from the beginning, its been told that its gonna be a mix of Friday the 13th and Carrie, is this concept lived up? Absolutely… NOT…!

After a long opening with stock footage of previous films with… Crazy Ralph as a narrator (Okay?), it begins in a flashback were we introduce the young girl name Tina Shepard who saw her angry drunken father, John, physically abused her mom Amanda, so Tina ran away to the boat, despite he tried to apologize, she doesn’t trust him so bad she… Unleashes her telekinesis to collapsing the dock to kill her father, despite she starts crying that she didn’t even meant to…?! Anyway, we fast forward to the present time (aka in the late 80s) where now grown Tina is brought back to her home, which is somehow located on Camp Crystal Lake (last time it used to be called Camp Forest Green, but now it stepped back to Crystal Lake??), but she and mommy Amanda is now living their house with psychiatrist named Dr. Crews, who puts Tina on test that she has psychokinetic abilities, not before she gets “Carried” away by moving a small matchbox and lit it on fire based on overcoming her emotion before on her instant regret of her dead father (again, how can you be so remorse from your abusive alcoholic father?). So in the night, she walked to the dock, wishing for bringing her father back to life to say “sorry”, but in reality, she accidentally uses her psychokinesis to revive none other than Jason Voorhees. So its up to Tina gotta open her eyes about the occurrence of Jason (despite she didn’t know about the hockey masked killer), while she’s pretty much forced to stay in Crystal lake with her mom, Dr. Crews and the forgettable campers.

When I did a research for the idea of this movie, I felt that it doesn’t feel like a Friday the 13th film ,but more like a poorman version of Carrie. I mean, yes, we have Jason on the loose once again, but unlike Carrie where she has telekinetic power from sin (so we think), here, Tina has powers because of… Um, domestic abuse by her father? I don’t know, they never tell us proper how or why she has powers, which I find the writing of this movie feel so dull, it feels like its a step backward compared to Part 6. But of course, the movie also tries to have a small subpot of love triangle between Tina, Nick and the Queen B of the campers, Melissa, but it just didn’t work that Melissa who wants to sleep with other campers for her pleasure, when she’s nothing but a manipulative B(bleep), but its just doesn’t work either, considering the campers are so bland (except for Nick, I find him to be not bad), cause its no stranger it focuses on Tina that much, and also Jason’s killing spree. As for why the campers are here in Crystal Lake? Well, they’re just there for birthday, though its more like a generic horny teens to boozing up, smoking up and sexing up without being warned about Jason on the loose. Like its the same thing ever since he came out of the lake.

The story is a complete lackluster compared to Part 6, I mean I get they wanted to make Carrie vs Jason, but its just poorly executed that it feels just another Friday the 13th film about teenagers getting killed before the final girl, especially with plotholes that left question for Tina’s excuse or her origin. Though in fairness, there are some dialogue are okay, which some dialogues gave me a chuckle.


The Presentation

The movie’s budget costed $2.8M as I’ve said before and it looks fine at best, but suffered with numerous problems.

For starter, the filming looks good for say the least, typical filming in the woods in Camp Crystal Lake, though for some reason we have two buildings, one is Shepard’s house and the other is a camp house, which im pretty sure they did the same thing as Part 4, in fact, there’s one scene where Robin got thrown out of window to death (but weaker compare to previous films) were filmed in the same Jarvis house in Part 4 as a last minute change when she was originally killed by dismembered from torso, but looked pretty bad that it was cut. The rest of this movie were filmed in Alabama, such as Baldwin County, located on Byrnes Lake off SR 225, and the road near from Mobile.

It has the same improved quality as Part 6, filming woods and again, two buildings in the camp, which like I said, it feels like a copy-paste from Part 4, but with Carrie-like element and Jason on the loose. Despite the filming looks nice, but the movie is suffered from editing problem, like there are bunch of jumpcuts that we skipped time or nearly all over the place. But the WORST case of the editing are the kills.

Speaking of the latter, some of the kills are standard, but they also have some creative and fun ones like Dr. Crews getting gut opened by a buzz saw weed wacker (which is the only time Jason kill someone with motor items. Sorry folks, no Jason with chainsaw in the franchise…), Kate getting Toot’d on her head from party horn in the funniest inclusion, and the most memorable of all (and Kane Hodder’s favorite), the sleeping bag kill by smashing Judy against the tree. While the rest are standard but rather weak, like we can barely see the gushing out blood and gore throughout the movie. But we all know the number 1 biggest problem of this movie, many of kills, along with some revealing dead bodies are edited out all over that we can’t even see what’s happening nor look like, it was all because MPAA were constantly sent X-Rated Warning 7 times, leaving more frustrations for post-production to cutting the kills down into what we have here. It feels like MPAA are acting like nowadays YouTube. For example, there’s the aforementioned weed wacker kill is supposed to be a lot gory with cutting the gut open, there’s Ben’s head crush to death that it was going to be a bloody bath with blood gushing out from the head like something out of anime, or the aforementioned sleeping bag kill that it was going to be multiple smash swing against the tree than once, as Kane Hodder was told for what would’ve been.

Once again, if you’re watching Dead Meat like I do, it has 16 kills in the movie. For my favorite, its a tough task, it will be either the sleeping bag kill, the Toot to the head or satisfying killing off Melissa, they’re more like my Top 3. But the worst kill for me, it will be either Robin being thrown out and weakly splattered on the ground or Maddy getting gutted by Sickle from cut out to outdoor with overusing unnecessary flashing light of thunder without a drop of rain (no really, the light flashing of thunder is so unnecessary and annoying that we barely see a rain drop nor even raining sound).

One lastly I like to complaining is the soundtrack. While the soundtrack when Jason is around is fine, but the rest just isn’t feel something out of Friday the 13th whenever they play Tina part. And not to mention, the opening credit song is just… Boringly bad that its just horror drum tone. I think the reason about the soundtrack, its because the composer of Part 1 to 7, Harry Manfredini, did some soundtrack, mainly because he was busy composing soundtrack on “DeepStar Six”, and the rest were done by Fred Mollin. Gee, I wonder why...

While the filming and the kills are fine, but its ruined with many issues like editing that feels like a pacing problem, annoying light flash of thunder and of course, the kills are ruined by Karen’s rating.


The Characters

Since this movie is about Jason vs Carrie (in odd idea), you think the characters would be even more enjoyable than before? None… A lot of characters are mediocre…

Lets start off with Jason Voorhees himself, as always. This time, as I said before, he’s played by Kane Hodder for the first before three later films which Hodder will be, by far, the only guy who played Jason more than once. While I like Jason look from Part 3 and 4, I think Part 7 design is also my favorite, which according to John Carl Buechler shows a lot od damages from previous films instead comes out clean like nothing happens, which I won’t deny his decision to make him look scarier and menacing as a powerful zombie killer with ripped clothes, exposed bones, a damaged mask and of course, being mad as HELL. Like you can see Jason movements went walking menacingly slow (pretty cliché), but when he gets confronted by Jason, he’s reached mile high of rage, or Roid Rage, if you add. That’s one thing il give credit for Kane’s Jason, he did a nice work for his portrayal of Jason for being menacingly scary and angry. Of course, Kane did a lot of stunts that he made a lot of risks of his life like being crushed by the roof (which funny enough, he said the hockey mask saved his life), he got face contacted by a light that he falls and destroying the stairs (BAW GAWD!!!) which Kane, which he came up that idea, said he could’ve broke his head and neck by real stairs compare the practical parts for his stunt, and the biggest one of all, being sprayed by a gasoline and being lit on fire by bursting furnace, and Kane did the fire stunt for more than 40 second that held the record at that time, which while it looks pretty cool, but it was torture for Hodder that he was hospitalized for months and has burnt scars on neck, torso and hands to this day. Talk about a dedicated role he’s ever done.

As for the rest of survivors, while there are some that find okay, but the rest are just bland and feel like step backward.

The only one that im talking for is Tina Shepard (played sadly, the late Lar Park Lincoln), the main protagonist in this movie who has Psychokinesis since her late father’s domestic abuse at her mom. The easiest way to describing her, she’s a poor man version of Carrie, which, like Carrie, she had ab abused moment and live with her mother, though at least it split rather than combined like Carrie, her father is abusive alcoholic and she has a caring mother. Even though I may like the chemistry between her and her mom, but I think I kind of prefer the chemistry between her and another camper hunk named Nick Rogers (played by Kevin Spirtas), while they get along, but i wish if the writing could’ve gone better for the two. Maybe its because Lar Park and Kevin didn’t get along from behind the scenes, which im assuming its because Kevin is secret gay before came out of closet (which the same can be said some other young gay actors back then). Despite being forgettable from the writing, Lar Park did a nice work of work of her role from remorse in distress to eventually trying to fight back against Jason. Though she did a very nice work, cause sadly, many years later, she was diagnosed with breast cancer, she won twice, but by the time she received the third one, she sadly lost the battle and died on April 22, 2025, at the age of 63. Rest in Peace, Tina…

As for the rest, some are fine, but like I said, the rest are forgettable at best.

There’s Amanda Shepard (played by the OG Arcee herself, Susan Blu), who’s Tina’s caring, bur protective mother, Dr. Crews (played by Terry Kiser) who’s a psychiatrist to checking on Tina, until he has a dark secret, Melissa (played by Susan Jennifer Sullivan, who said to be dead from cancer in 2009, but it turned out it wasn’t true, I think she’s still alive in her normal private life after Part 7) who’s a mean girl against Tina and wanting to have affair with Nick or other dudes, Eddie (played by Jeff Bennett, no connection to the voice actor with the same name, sorry James A. Janisse) who’s a sci-fi nerd and kind of annoying, while the rest are the same generic campers you expect, party fellow, lovely couples, doped up camper and many more. Its like take a shot if you’re in typical slasher films.

While the acting are good that il give credit for some, but the characters are just mediocre that its the same that we didn’t care that much.


SPOILER ALERT for those who haven’t seen the movie, or if you don’t mind

The final act is probably more memorable part in Part 7 after the blandness from the first and second act.

After discovering Dr. Crews setup on Tina that happens to be a harsh science experiment for the amount of emotion and stress, Amanda is absolutely disgusted about his plan, but Tina heard their conversation about the setup, she tried to escape by herself in a car, but didn’t last long from her scary vision of her mom getting killed by Jason and crashed into woods, leaving Tina runs off to the woods, like Amanda goes into motherly panic to finding her with Dr. Crews (because throughout the movie is nothing but “Wood is woods” as Nick’s cousin Michael (played by William Butler) puts it). But what Shepards and Dr. Crews didn’t know, is that Jason is on the loose of killing teens as we expect. Anyway after Tina and Nick discovered dead cousin Nick, they entered her home to reveal more twist, Dr. Crews has kept in secret to not only planning to sabotage Tina’s Psychokinesis, but also covering the report about Jason Voorhees, leaving Tina feeling overwhelmed with her power, causing Nick found out she’s 99 cent version of Carrie. However, their attempt to finding Amanda Shepard is too little too late, as she was killed by Jason with tree trimmer (even if Susan Blu said that her death is like the final moment of her live action acting before focusing on voice acting. Yikes...). And also Dr. Crews was brutally murdered by Jason’s buzz saw weed wacker. After Tina goes out on her own to discovering dead bodies (including her mother), she finally gets confronted by Jason, she takes her revenge by using her power by tangling with branch or loose power-line to electrocuting him with muddy pond. The chase went on from woods to party cabin with throwing stuff with her mind and crushing him with a roof, then she goes back to her home to Nick with mean girl Melissa, they try to tell “The-NOT-Regina-George” about Jason, but she find them crazy, only Melissa gets caught by Jason for Axing her a question to her head (karma can bite right in the ass). Anyway, this resulting a small chase from upstairs and back to downstairs (thanks to Tina uses her power to smash Jason with a light and crashing into practical stairs). But Jason breaks out in attempt to Nick, but Tina fights back by squeezing his head with mask strings, but not before breaks it off to revealing the most gnarliest Jason’s face I’ve ever seen. But Tina is still isn’t finish to blow the light and using electrical wire to hanging him, but felt like to make a hole to put him out again, but as we all know, Jason still comes back, but even more angrier underneath the downstairs. But again, Not-Carrie attacks him from throwing nails, spray him with gas and lit him on fire, causing her and Nick to leave in hurry before the house go BOOM!!! (Wow, pretty unexpected for Friday the 13th films. But you know what they said, go big or go home. No pun intended)

But Jason, somehow survived from explosion like a cartoon, but even more gnarlier and angrier, to not only backhanding Nick (after he shots Jason, but should’ve know bullets won’t work on Jason), but trying to kill Tina. But Tina goes mind wishing for her abusive dad again (seriously, why you want him back when he abused her late mother??), but then some how, John comes out of water, capturing Jason with chains around to neck to drowning him to “death”. But then in the mourning, the movie ends in the same way early days of Friday the 13th, Tina and Nick were carried in a stretcher to the ambulance and… That’s about it, just copying what we saw from pre-zombie Jason days.

I should also point out the scene where undead(?) John Shepard comes out water just plain too weird and dumb. But im not the only one, even John Carl Buechler hated that originally, john supposed to coming out like a zombie with makeup all around, but Frank Mancuso Jr was absent due to working on “Friday the 13th: The Series” (which I’ve never seen), Barbara Sachs shutdown Buechler’s suggestion that what we have here. Yeah, that didn’t go that well.

The final act is no stranger to be the highlight of this movie, even if the ending just didn’t make any sense whatsoever.


And now for my Final Opinion of this film

Overall, Friday the 13th Part 7: The New Blood feels like a step back compared to Part 6, but weirder, dumber and kind of boring.

It suffers from stepback on nearly everything on the characters and the plot, some parts of writing, forgettable filler, the idea with Carrie part in it is questionable that it didn’t feel like a Friday the 13th film, some questionable editing and worst of all, despite some kills are good and creative, but its ruined by the MPAA for being forced to tone down or else.

But it doesn’t mean its ALL bad, there are a few redeeming quality that il give appreciation such as Kane Hodder’s Jason, the kills are good and creative (though ruined by you-know-who), some of the characters are fine, some filming are alright based on slightly big budget, and of course, the climax is the best part of the movie.

Some fans maybe mixed that either they like it or not due to several reasons, which I won’t deny their mixed feelings, but for me, it feels like a letdown, I don’t recommend it that much, its more like check this out ONCE and you’ll make your conclusion, it may look fine, but felt like a downgrade than before.

For my rating, im gonna give this one a 3.5/10.


So this ends of my movie review, so next time, it looks like we’re going down, down and down, when we’re gonna have a hockey masked killer to having… A boat trip to the Big Apple.

But as always, if you guys have your opinion or any suggestions, let me know at comment bellow and support me on KO-FI.com/blackevil.

Thanks for reading, and im Anthony, signing out.

Friday, 20 February 2026

Mini Review: Red Sonja 2025


 Returning to the sword and sorcery film after I covered Deathstalker, it seems that we’ve never covered any movies based on comics that are not from either Marvel nor even DC. Sure, I could’ve make a review of Bloodshot, but couldn’t make a review because of “you-know-what” back in 2020, but that’s a long story.

But this time, its more like focus of one character being adapted from the original story for inspiration purpose, but outside of Robert E. Howard’s character. Though used to be in Marvel comics before now in journey on Dynamite Entertainment.

“Red Sonja” is a 2025 sword and sorcery film that was directed by M.J. Bassett, produced by Avi Lerner, Joe Gatta, Yariv Lerner, Mark Canton, Courtney Solomon, Joey Soloway, and Luke Lieberman, and written by Tasha Huo.

Like I said before, the character Red Sonja is based on Robert E. Howard’s character with the same name from the short story called “The Shadow of the Vulture”, she depicted as a female warrior from Polish and Ukraine in her personal grudge against the sultan from Ottoman, even though she isn’t meant to be connected to Hyborian hero, Conan The Barbarian, until someone though it would be a good idea to make a movie called “Red Sonja” and released in 1985 that it shared the same world of Conan The Barbarian/Destroyer, but it became the worst movie ever made for all the reasons, again, long story. Anyway, this would becoming an inspiration to Roy Thomas and artist Barry Windsor-Smith to creating their own version of Red Sonja, making her debut on Marvel Comics in 1973, while she’s interacting to Conan, and like in Howard’s version, she’s depicted as a female warrior in sword and sorcery, but she’s born in Hyrkanian, seeking revenge against the mercenaries for murder her parents (Gee, does that sounds familiar to you?). Though she would later becoming somewhat memorable character, not just being a swordmaster for revenge from what happened to her past, but rather appeared to wearing her chain mail bikini (Ohh my…).

As for the idea of this movie in today’s review, it went back when we have the worst version of Red Sonja that they were planning to make a sequel, but it never happened (I wonder why…?). But it wouldn’t be until in 2008, Robert Rodriguez and his company “Troublemaker Studios” wanted to make movie based on Thomas version, but a year later, it was scrapped quickly. But in 2010, Nu Image (now as Millennium Media) moved to make their own take of Red Sonja with numerous producers come on for the project, along with changing directors for credit role, one of them was Bryan Singer, but didn’t last long due to the combination of accusation of sexual assault and unable to secure a domestic distributor (Yeah, he deserved to be dropped how bad he is), until what we have here for today’s review.

Will this be a worthy journey with Red Sonja on the big screen? Lets find out.


The movie begins with a flashback where we meet the young Red Sonja who lives peacefully in her home kingdom called “Hyrkania”. However, the peace didn’t last long as her home was invaded by barbarians, killing and capture innocents on their way, while Sonja ran away to escape the invasion. Despite she has some moments where she was kidnapped in slavery before she escaped. Fast forwards from years later, where grown Red Sonja lives in the forest with her trusty horse peacefully with praying to the goddess Ashera. However, she heard about the mercenaries are in the forest for not only disturbing the peace, but also hunting various animals for horns, not just for crafting the weapons, but also for the gladiator games honored by a spoiled emperor named Dragan. While she’s gets caught by Dragan’s deadly warrior named Annisia, Sonja, being imprisoned as a slave, she discovers Dragan has the half of the Hyrkanian book. So its up to Sonja to freeing herself and remaining slaves to fight against Dragan for her vengeance to Hyrkania.

Though like any reviews I’ve done, I won’t do the comparison between this and some comics out there. So, when it comes to the story, it feels like any vengeful stories, this time, she’s fighting for the sake of her lost kingdom. Basically, its a mixed between Braveheart for her freedom against Dragan’s slavery and Gladiator when she’s imprisoned and fight for death for Dragan’s entertainment purposes. Which fine for say the least for her vengeful story, but I find the story be standard for say the least, though I just wish if the writing could’ve make something promising like developments other than Sonja or Dragan, and some world building. Though I should also mentioned the writing dialogues are find for say the least to be like sword and sorcery English theme, some has a nice delivery, while some tries to give us a small bit of humor which I find… Bellow average at best, even if I had a small chuckle.


As for the presentation, I find it to be… Above average at best. However, I tried my best to digging around for how much money they spent on this movie, however, as im writing this, I can’t find any confirmation of the film’s budget, so for my guess, it must’ve been costs about less than $1M or $1.5M. Im not confirming the numbers, its just my guessing, since its another low budget film in my review.

For starter, the filming and cinematography looks pretty good and some beautiful shots out there, the set looks pretty good too to be taking place in fantasy land of sword and sorcery with fort, decoration in the forest (even though it was filmed in both Sofia, Bulgaria and Thermi suburb of Thessaloniki, Greece), and some done in practicals, along with some wardrobes they made are pretty nice too from dresses, armors and other unique designs, especially with weapon designs. Though if you ever read the comics with Red Sonja, either from Marvel or Dynamite Entertainment, as I said from the beginning, we see her in her signature scantly clad chain mail bikini, which is unusual, but beautiful, even if her chain mail bikini is like bikini armor with extra defense points than plain covered armors. But when it comes to this movie if some of you are familiar from the comics? Well, her armors are basically… Chest with chain mail bra, shoulder armors with chains and a skirt. Which I find her outfit in this movie is mid at best. But remember the aforementioned chain mail bikini armor? Well, they brought in, but only when Sonja first arrived in a gladiator game or being caged for interrogation with Dragan. Talk about a letdown for any fans of Red Sonja like to see how she’s presented.

As for the action scenes, they’re good, it has a pretty nice sword fight, avoiding arrows and even fighting monsters. However, despite they have some action scenes that they’re good to watch, though choreograph can be a bit iffy at some moment, mainly, while we see the kills and the blood, but all we seen is the contact from arrows on-seen, but some kills with swords and knives are either shown or unseen, even if this film is rated 14A, according to YouTube that I checked. I mean come on, Deathstalker 2025 has no problem to show us a gory kills, as a bow budget film.

However, even though they gave us practical effects, they also adding CG effects, which the CGs are… Mid. Some of them looks nice like the setting in Dragan’s homeland, Ashera’s statue and other locations, but other times you can see some quality just doesn’t look right, like the machine cart where Dragan was introduced or even the Cyclops, they look like they’re in PS3 quality, as again, a low budget film. Speaking of which, even though did the nice work for the set, the designs and some actions, but the movie is suffered with post-production issues that I noticed while I watched it, I don’t know if its on YouTube or the movie itself, but I see errors like jump cuts, slow frames-per-seconds (not the slowmo tho) and the aforementioned iffy CG moment. Its almost like they rushed the post-production after they’ve spent time and money on CG designs and effects.

Lastly, as for the characters, I find the characters are… Also fine for the very least.


Our titular protagonist, Red Sonja (played by Matilda Lutz), I find her to be a fairly decent in this version, while she’s a vengeful warrior for Hyrkania kingdom (as possibly the last of them) after she survived, but also her care of humanity and vulnerability. I can understand she’s meant to be a vengeful warrior to protecting humanity from either slavery or kill for entertainment, but I find the execution just didn’t mesh. Maybe she would’ve been great like an anti-hero, taking her vengeance seriously for her assassination attempt on Dragan for the sake of her lost kingdom. Though im not saying I don’t like her performance, I think she did a nice of her performance, even if the way she was written just didn’t work in execution.

Then we have Emperor Dragan (played by Robert Sheehan), the main villain who likes be in control for gladiator games, slaughtering animals for crafting weapons and wanting to be the great emperor in the world. I find him to be… Mediocre at best, he’s basically a spoiled adult brat who likes to be ruler whatever he wants and outright screwing over the people if they don’t stand on his way, especially he wishes to great powers and taking his own credit than anyone, along with revision his past as a lost boy before taking over as an emperor of the land, but in reality, he’s just a emperor brat who acts like a social influencer who wants attention by making millions of disstracks. Though im not gonna taking personal on Robert Sheehan, cause its the first time I saw him on the screen, even if I’ve never seen some previous films he’s been involved. But in this movie, what the heck is up with his delivery, its as if he’s trying to be menacing and being mean spirited, but I think the way he was written to deliver is clearly made him look doofus.

As for the rest, there aren’t much to explain, despite most of them are either have a brief development or lackluster, like Annisia (played by Wallis Day) who’s a schizophrenic warrior due to hearing voices in her mind for… Reasons, Hawk (played by former UFC fighter Michael Bisping) who’s Sonja’s muscle of rebellious slaves, General Karlak (played by bodybuilder Martyn Ford) who’s a hybrid being for being Dragan’s guard, Amarak (played by Eliza Matengu) who’s also hybrid being, but on Sonja’s side, Ashera (played by Veronica Ferres) who’s the goddess from ancient Semitic (and Ferres also plays as Sonja’s mother), and Osin (played by Luke Pasqualino) who’s on Sonja’s side for moment due to, like Sonja, he used to live with his own kingdom.

Overall, I find this movie to be rather disappointing. It would’ve been either promising or great movie for being based on Red Sonja comics (either Marvel at the time or Dynamite Entertainment) to give us a promising would building, a character driven with well execution and great actions. Instead, it feels so bellow average that the writing is okay at best for the story and lowbrow humor attempt, while some characters (minus Sonja) are either what would’ve been or just lackluster, though Sonja herself in this movie is fine at best. The presentation is good at some moments with not-so gory actions, nice settings and some CG are either look fine or just laughably bad.

Its a tough task if anyone like it or not. I’d say, watch this movie ONCE if you find it okay or just plain mediocre.


And that’s all for my mini review, tell me what you think in the comments bellow. And heads up my friends, im finally done with movies of last year, im preparing to make the countdown list of best and worst movies in 2025, tune it next time.

Thanks for reading, and im Anthony, signing out.

Friday, 13 February 2026

Movie Review: Friday the 13th Part 6: Jason Lives


Hey everyone, my name is Anthony and welcome back to my Movie Review

Yes my friends, its Friday the 13th, once again! Last year, we only had a single Friday the 13th, but this year, we have three of them, one on today’s February, on March and on November (the month of my Birthday), so this will be perfect opportunity to have three reviews in Friday the 13th movie franchise. Last year, I covered Part 5 that I find it mediocre that it doesn’t feel like Friday the 13th movie, but it has some crazy stuff and the sleaziest installment I’ve ever saw, probably one of the “So Bad its Good” movie, eh? Well, this brings us in today’s review that it feels more like a public apology after the negative reception over Part 5.

“Friday the 13th Part 6: Jason Lives” is a 1986 slasher film that was written/directed by Tom McLoughlin and produced by Don Behrns.

As I’ve covered Part 5, while the movie was a financial success, it didn’t received very well both critics and audience for how lacking this movie is, mainly because again, this movie didn’t have Jason Voorhees (though in supernatural cameo). So, in order to save the franchise (and say sorry, along with producers wanted to bring the franchise back than “A New Beginning”), the executive producer of the franchise, Frank Mancuso Jr decided to scrap the new coarse, and hired Tom McLoughlin as both director and the writer following his release of One Dark Night in 1982. While writing for the project he came up the story for not only Jason brought back from the dead, but also the mix of inspiration from Universal Monster franchise like Frankenstein, action moments and even postmodern metahumor. Oh and also retcon Part 5’s ending (Duh!).

When Part 6: Jason Lives came out of the grave on August 1st 1986, it was well-received we hoped for, critics and audience loved this movie for return to the old route with Jason’s return and some humorous moments. But as for the box-office… Yeah, its not a good sign. Despite the movie received $19.5M over $3M budget, but it didn’t reached the high number as Part 5, due to combination of Part 5’s disappointment, becoming a franchise fatigue and the new slasher in town called “A Nightmare on Elm Street” in 1984. Despite the low point from box-office, it has its legacy, thanks a then new filmmaker named Kevin Williamson to using Part 6 as an inspiration for his own slasher franchise called “Scream”. The more you know.

In an interesting fact, this was the first Friday the 13th film I’ve ever saw, which for some reason when I bought this movie, it was weirdly rated 14 for older teens (according to the rating in my homeland Canada), when I saw it, I though its good in first half, but the rest was downhill. So, I felt like to rewatch this movie if my feeling has changed or remains the same.

So, with all that said, will Part 6: Jason Lives is a worthy return of Jason, or is this film should stay in grave or be drowned again?

Well, lets find out.


The Story

You would think the story is gonna be different compared to the previous installments? Well… Yes and no.

Picking up one year after Part 5 when he was released psychiatric hospital, our old friend Tommy Jarvis drives in a dark night with foggy forest (old school gothic movie style) with his partner Allen Hawes, mainly because despite being released from hospital for being cleared, Tommy still suffers a Vietnam Flashback over the bane from his childhood, Jason Voorhees. Upon arrival to the cemetery, Tommy’s plan is to dig out the grave of Jason to destroy the body, but after open a coffin with Jason’s body disgustingly covered by cobwebs, worms and maggots, Tommy is still traumatized that he proceeds to pull out a metal fence like a spear the stabbing the hell out of hockey masked slasher. Alas, as Tommy and Allen are about to open a gas tank, a lightning strikes on metal fence with Jason, twice…! (Frankenstein style) Causing Jason being revived from the grave as a revenant slasher. With Tommy failed to light his match, Allen tries to backstab Jason with a shovel, but Jason responds by impale through his chest with ripped heart out (Kano style…!), leaving Tommy running away in alert. After a badass opening title with James Bond reference, Tommy arrives in police station for emergency to Sheriff Mike Garris, but in typical movie fashion, cops don’t believe our main protag’s truth, so Garris, along with other coppers, arrest Tommy for disturbing the peace (and attempt to grab a shotgun), despite of brief sympathy from Garris about Tommy’s past, along with Crystal Lake has been renamed as “Forest Green”, not a good idea for new name when its a same location as Jason’s killing spot (But Jesus, now Tommy is gonna be stuck in cell without going out of action as a main protagonist??). However, someone should’ve warn about unfriendly masked killer when Darren and Lizbeth were interrupted by Jason in the middle of the road. So Darren tries to fight Jason with the use of gun, but gets impaled in the gut to death and Lizbeth attempts to survive herself from coming of car (without getting speared through windshield), but she didn’t last long with being impaled though her head in puddle of mud. Later in the mourning, we introduce Sheriff Mike’s daughter, Megan Garris, where she along with other teens, Sissy, Cort and Paula (the latter who happens to be Liz’s sister) where before they’re going on camping, they’re reporting about Darren and Liz were missing, but Tommy believes Jason killed them, even if nobody knows about his proof. So, after sharing urban legends, along with a school bus comes with out kids for camping, Megan and her pals and hanging around in the camp, despite being possibly warned about Jason (along with searching whatever happened to Darren and Lizbeth, while Tommy is gotta find and tell the proof about Jason’s alive once and for all.

Its much like the same plot as previous films, but surprisingly not just being cheesy serious or immature, they just want to have a mix of serious and some fun moments from dialogue along with metahumor. This is thanks to McLoughlin’s writing for to have some fun dialogue on the movie for not just some mature humors, but also self-awareness. At first, I had no idea about these jokes, but I did have a chuckle at many moments like Martin the cemetery caretaker made some self-aware by questioning people making “strange idea entertainment” or, my personal favorite, an editing gag of Martin asking for being a “Farthead”, then cuts to kids yelling “YES!”. That right here is the funniest part in the movie for unexpected timing from editing joke, I like that. Or another favorite part is where Deputy Rick Cologne threatens Tommy with his pistol with an over-sized laser that he weirdly and proudly says “Wherever the red dot goes… Ya Bang!”. Wow, obsessed much, Deputy? Or, if you’re a fan of YouTube like me (for the most part), there’s also some memorable dialogue from the kids where one of kids famously said “I think we’re Dead Meat.”. If you perfectly guessing the reference, congratulations, my friends. I guess you can say this movie may or may not be the most quotable film in Friday the 13th franchise, you’ll make your own conclusion. However, if there’s one nitpick for the writing of this movie is they’re bringing Jason Voorhees as urban legend again, which it didn’t make any sense, since Jason was already there and existed when he was “drowned” to death and literally seeks revenge on his mother’s death, but here, they bring up the urban legend thing again, without being warned that Jason has returned from his grave, especially how this movie takes place 6 years after Part 4 in possibly the most confusing timeline in the franchise, despite how the sets how the movies were made took place in the 80s. Of course, another problem I have is I wish they could’ve focus more on Tommy to be protective in Green Forest rather being tied on his hands by the cops to prove them to find any evidence about Jason’s resurrection, along with cops believing Tommy covers his ass as a killer. Again, pretty cliché about cops didn’t care about our main hero’s truth to clearing his name with warning, leaving Tommy’s return is rather lackluster.

Despite the movie is suffered with unnecessary urban legend story (despite they should’ve know about Jason’s return) and cliché false accusation element by cops, the story is good, but it actually works to having some nice inclusion from the setting and pretty good writing from the dialogue from character developments and even metahumors.


The Presentation

The movie’s budget grows bigger than before with the aforementioned $3M, and I will say, it looks pretty good how they’ve done.

For starter, it was filmed in Covington, Georgia, located close to the capital city, Atlanta. It took six weeks to film there from Camp Daniel Morgan as Camp Green Forest, aka Camp Crystal Lake, and the cemetery chase scene in Old Madison Cemetery, as long as some actors actors (and production crew) have to stay away from the graves. Speaking of cemetery, its worth noting that the movie’s had two cemeteries, one is the aforementioned real cemetery in Georgia, and opening night cemetery were done in scratch in empty field, done by Joseph T. Garrity. I will say, they way they filmed are pretty good, much bigger and better quality for $3M. Especially it wasn’t just a slasher film, but also going into action.

In case for the latter, the effects and the makeup they’ve done are pretty nice too. Though the downside is that the makeup, particular the kills, are unfortunately, unseen once again. They gave us some fascinating kills like triple decapitations in the paintball, a hard faceplant to the tree with weirdly a bloody smile, a shattered bottle stab through the throat, a double kill via impalement, head twisted to decapitation with bare hands, Paula’s beaten to bloody death in the cabin without seeing what just happened and couple other kills. Like I said in previous Friday the 13th movies, its a pain the ass for how desperate we like to see the kills, but unseen, all because MPAA was a pain in the ass for cut the violence down or be limited as a Rated X film. Although, there couple of kills that aren’t are bloody nor gory, such as one police officer getting head crush from Jason’s hands with cracking noise (without the eye-popping 3D gimmick, good riddance), a double kill in the RV before getting flipped and land on the side (which was the last part of their filming, as the producer, Don Behrns, wanted to get extra bonus for this shot), or, the most brutal in this movie (without the gore), is where Jason pins Sheriff Garris by harshly folding him down like a chair (the way how they pulled is dug out a hole for upper torso for actor and the legs out from stunt double).

If you’ve watching Dead Meat like I do, when it comes to the body count in this movie, it has 18 kills in the movie. Despite the lack of blood and gore (again, because of MPAA being too strict), my favorite will be the officer getting head crushed, the RV crash after double kills and Sheriff Garris folding of death. And speaking of lackluster, its also surprising to know that this is the first and only Friday the 13th film that didn’t have nudity, which im okay with it. Sure we see Nikki and Cort (the same victims in the aforementioned RV incident) having affair together, but again, without bare boobies nor bare asses showing. Quite surprising, but again, im fine with it.

One last thing that I like to give is the music. Sure, the score from Harry Manfredini are surprisingly gone bigger and better than previous films’ soundtrack that it feels like the same, but what im talking about is the use of Alice Cooper songs, which has not one, but three songs, such as “Teenage Frankenstein” in the RV, “Hard Rock Summer” for car chase (damn, we have a police running and a car chase? It surely is bigger and better, eh?) and of course, the signature song of the movie, “He’s Back (The Man behind The Mask)”, which is my favorite song from Alice Cooper, this song defines the celebration of Jason’s return from the grave for more kills and fun moments, for the most part.

While its a shame for lackluster graphical kills (minus three of the kills that I like), but the production looks pretty good with promising big budget (though still cheap), a nice filming shots, pretty cool stunt and well included Alice Cooper songs. Though without the nudity, but again, im okay without it.


The Characters

Despite the mixed writing, you think the characters are gonna be something new, along with the return of previous movies characters for another chance? Well yes, for the most part.

Lets start off with Jason Voorhees, as always, but this time, he’s played by C. J. Graham. As you can see, Jason is no longer a near-immortal human like in Part 4, here he’s now revived as a powerful revenant with his strength and brutality, and also getting bulky based on Graham’s appearance, which I find Jason’s appearance to be underrated compared to Part 3 and 4. I think this is Graham used to be in a military for Vietnam War based on the way he moves very stiff and hiding the forest like a camouflage. Originally, Dan Bradley was going to be Part 6’s Jason during the first shot (mainly the paintball moments), but Bradley’s time as Jason won’t last long, mainly because they though he was too big to film, so he was replaced by Graham after met him when he used to be nightclub owner. Huh, he went from nightclub to Jason? That’s an odd transition in his career, eh?

And finally, we have Tommy Jarvis, this time played by Thom Mathews. This version of Tommy is more recognizable that we all know, gone from freaky kid with monster puppets and masks from Part 4 and mentally distress from Part 5, here, he’s more warned and vengeful that we just want to see him fighting against Jason to clear his mind once again. Though sometimes he can be a bit cocky to fire back, like when he escapes the prison from the help of Megan or calling out Jason in foul mouth. No offense to Corey Feldman, I think Thom did a great work of his role of Tommy. Again, its no wonder why Mathews’s Tommy is more famous, which is no wonder why he came back in Friday the 13th The Game, as well as fan-made short films called “Never Hike Alone”. However, the major problem about Thom’s Jarvis is that his appearance and his battle against Jason is very minimal, its more about Tommy tries to clear his name to the cops to prove Jason is still alive, or worse, the cops believe that Tommy is a killer. Which I find it pretty cliché how dumb the cops are when they’re trying to protecting Green Forest to constantly saying Jason Voorhees is a myth. And its a shame that this is the last movie starring Tommy Jarvis that we’ll never see him ever again for the rest of the franchise (except for the aforementioned game and Never Hike Alone).

As for the new ones, I find some are average at best, but there are four characters that are worth to talking about.

There’s Megan Garris (played by Jennifer Cooke) is, at first, look like a typical final girl in slasher and a camp counselor of Green Forest, but she’s actually likable, thanks for being rebellious against her father and attached to Tommy Jarvis to prove his innocence. I find her to be memorable how she was written for being rebel, helpful and even badass with the car chase, and of course, Jenny did a good work of her role, but its a shame between this and cameo in the show “A Year in the Life” would be her final time before she retired to focusing her own life. Aw well.

Next we have Sheriff Mike Garris (played by David Kagen) who’s a sort of antagonist in the movie that he doesn’t believing about Jason came out of the grave, along with being overprotective to anyone who live in Camp Forest to prove he’s the law. I mean sure he may have a sympathy on some like Tommy for losing his family and friend back in Part 4 and caring so much on his daughter Megan, but again, he’s pretty much an A-Hole for being protective nor even acknowledge about Jason’s killing spree, along with blaming the victim like Tommy, which again, I find the latter so cliché for his point of view. I know some may like this guy, but im not a fan of him for how, again, he gatekeeping the place that used to be called Crystal Lake. Though im not saying I hate David’s performance, he did a nice work on his role with all due respect.

Then we have Martin (played by Bob Larkin), a gravedigger (or cemetery caretaker) who’s somehow fascinating for bringing his humor dialogues in the movie from questioning the situation of Jason’s grave open, in self-aware in front of the camera as I said before, and along with my favorite editing gag. Though as we all know, he didn’t last long for being stabbed through the throat from his own shattered bottle. Aw well, gotta give credit for his delivery from dialogues.

And finally, there’s Deputy Rick Cologne (played by Vincent Guastaferro), one of the policeman with the aforementioned gun with ridiculously large laser scope that he was proud of with “Ya Bang!”. Such an odd fella, but I find him more interesting than Sheriff Garris, based on not just his personality, but also Vince’s delivery from proud of his gun or even being backstabbed by Megan and Tommy. And the fun thing about him, he came back in Never Hike Alone in Snow with Mathews’s Tommy Jarvis too.

As for the rest, there really isn’t much to say for these people for either underdeveloped or for bodycounts, there’s sissy Baker (played by Renee Baker) who’s just… Hanging out with listening music and magazine before head twisted to death, Paula Mott (played by Kerry Noonan) who’s a sensible and protective to some kids in camp like Nancy, because she’s killed off into a blood bath by Jason, Nikki Parsley (played by Darcy DeMoss) is a Cort’s softcore lovely girlfriend in the RV, Cort Andrews (played by Tom Fridley) who’s Nikki’s boyfriend who’s proud of driving RV with listening Alice Cooper’s Teenage Frankenstein, Lizbeth Mott (played by Tom’s wife, Nancy McLoughlin) who’s Paula’s lost sister, and the first girl who’s aware about an unfriendly masked killer and finally there’s Darren Robinson (played by Tony Goldwyn) who’s Liz’s boyfriend in attempt to fight Jason. Though interesting fact that this is decade before he voiced Tarzan in 1999.

While some minor ones are just there for survival or be killed, but it has some characters that are enjoyable to be mentioned, even if it could’ve gone better to give more appearance to Tommy Jarvis.


SPOILER ALERT for those who haven’t seen the movie, if you don’t care.

The final act is much like as you expect if you watched the previous installments. Though when it comes to this one, its like Part 5, but better.

While Jason is wandering around in the camp formerly known as “Camp Crystal Lake”, Tommy Jarvis called Megan to give him a lift to going back there for his unfinished business. While he’s in Megan’s Chevy Camaro, they caught in hot water by the cops for speeding, leaving the good’ol fashion car chase with Alice Cooper’s Hard Rock Summer playing on the radio (I think). But the chase didn’t last long as the cops outsmarted our heroes by Sheriff Garris. While returning to the station after the report of discovered more dead bodies like Cort and Nikki, Megan begs her father to prove Tommy is innocent that Jason is out there, but alas, Sheriff Garris refuses to believe it and claims Tommy is the killer, putting him back in the cell again (that bastard…!), leaving Tommy and Megan being watched by Deputy Rick Cologne, while Sheriff Garris left for more Crime Scene Investigation (no pun intended). To setting up the escape, Megan approaches to Tommy for making out, leaving Deputy Cologne startled them over their sharing veggies, but not before he got backfired by Megan by snatching out his pistol from his holster to let Tommy go (along with Vincent’s most betrayed delivery I’ve ever heard), or else, Tommy copies what Rick said before in a cocky mood, and their plan work to not only escape the station, but also locking up Deputy Cologne (“MEGAN!!!” Ohh man, more fun betrayed delivery). While Tommy and Megan are on their way to going back to Camp Forest Green, Jason Voorhees goes full on Cop Killer from headshot with a dart and head crush with bare hands, Sheriff Garris is in alert to tell the kids to leave the camp safely before gets caught by Jason. While Megan tries to call her daddy sheriff, it was too late that Jason killed him with a nasty back breaking folding like a chair (such a creative and brutal kill, even without the gore, because MPAA said so). After Jason broke in and attempt to kill Megan, Tommy calls out Jason in foul mouthing way, leaving a showdown between the survivor from Part 4 and the hockey masked killer that Tommy was traumatized for long time. While Jason swims in the lake, Tommy circles with gasoline to light the circle of fire, but Jason tricks Tommy from behind that feels more of a grappling fight. But Jason breaks the boat in half (with being chained around his neck with a sinking rock that he’s on the verge of drowning, Tommy barely escapes from drowning Jason, leaving Megan swims to the rescue to saving Tommy’s ass the lake (though the outdoor lake was filmed in cold night at Georgia, while underwater was filmed in temperature-controlled swimming pool in University of Southern California), but she was caught by Jason’s hand that she doesn’t wanna get drowned too by ignite the boat with a propeller cutting Jason’s throat with blood bursting (Though Jason’s slashed by boat propeller was filmed in McLoughlin’s family swimming pool without making a mess in USC’s pool). And in the end, Tommy is survived from Megan’s CPR and they lived happily ever after… Well, so we think as Jason is still alive while being drowned.

Quite of fun ride to see the epic showdown between Tommy and Megan vs Jason, especially for how challenging they filmed from above the water and underwater. Though the bad news is that, I forgot to mention that this is Tommy Jarvis’s final film he’s ever appeared on. Rumor speculated that Corey Feldman (who played Tommy in Part 4) would like to coming back in alternative sequel (kind of like Halloween changed sequels like H2O or the 2018 one), but it will be remained forever mystery. And lastly, in the original ending, Martin (who’s originally intended to be survived) meets a mysterious man who goes after Jason’s and Pamela’s graves, the mysterious man happens to be Jason’s father, Elias Voorhees. However, that ending was scrapped by Frank Macuso Jr. in favor of cliffhanger of Jason’s coming back, again. Sucks for not giving us the father chemistry, but whole Elias Voorhees plan onscreen will also be remaining mystery.


And now for my final opinion of this film

Overall, Friday the 13th Part 6: Jason Lives is a fun movie and I can definitely see why many fans called it the best one of the franchise, though I kind of agree on that, but Part 4 is, for me, the best one.

The presentation looks pretty good, the characters are enjoyable (for some actors, while some minor characters are bellow, except for some like Martin, Deputy Cologne and I forgot to mention the two boys), Jason looks pretty cool and probably terrifying as a powerful undead being, it has some fun humors based on meta elements, and some kills are good.

However, despite it has some great stuff, it doesn’t mean its all perfect such as “same old same old” plot, but with Tommy’s final ride (which I wish they could’ve make more about him), some kills are unseen because of MPAA, and again, some remaining characters could’ve gone better, if the writing would’ve been more fun and likable.

Like I said, even though people said its the best one, I maybe agree, but Part 4 is more fun to watch, which is like my cup of tea, while Part 6, while its fun to see Jason comes out of the grave, but it feels more like pass, more like my Number 2 pick (so far as im writing this). If you like Part 6, that’s good for you, for me, its good, but more of a pass. And once again, I recommend to watch it for once, unless if you’re a die-hard fan of the franchise, this one is for you.

For my rating, im gonna give this one a 6.5/10.


So this ends of my Movie Review. But next time (on March of Friday the 13th), we’re take a look when Paramount wanted to do a crossover, kind of… But more like if you put Jason meets a character with similar power as Carrie.


Anyway, if you guys have your opinion or any suggestions, let me know at comment bellow and support me on KO-FI.com/blackevil.

Thanks for reading, and im Anthony, signing out.

Friday, 6 February 2026

Mini Review: Deathstalker 2025

 

Last time, I covered the reboot of The Toxic Avenger which is an... Unusual and chaotic remake i've ever watched...


Anyway, the next remake of the B movies is what happened if you make a low budget sword and sorcery film (aka action fantasy film) following the success of Conan The Barbarian? Well, that’s exactly what we have in today’s review.


“Deathstalker” is a 2025 sword and sorcery film that was written/directed by Steven Kostanski and produced by Pasha Patriki, Michael Paszt, and Avi Federgreen.


Normally, I would like to explain where did the idea came from, its a remake, yes, but how or why would they remaking it? Well, unlike many movies I’ve covered, this one is actually started a Kickstarter campaign. While his old production company called “Astron-6” has been defunct, but it doesn’t mean Steve has given up his career, instead he like to going back to his low-budget film business. So in March of 2024, he launched his campaign about his remake of Deathstalker with the goal is to reaching $75K, and after having nearly 600 backers, it was a success with more than $95K pledged.


But before we start, let me give you a brief history. The creation of Deathstalker came all the way back in 1983. Like I said before, thanks to the success of Conan The Barbarian, late legendary B Movie filmmaker, Roger Corman decided to cash in to financing on Palo Alto company the production were set in Argentina. I did saw some reviewers of this movie, which by look at it, it shows what happened if you mix Conan and sexy music video into this. Its weird, its violence and… Rather sexy, eh? And somehow, the first Deathstalker made a lot of money, around $5M or $11.5M. So much so that Roger Corman and his team (depending if its the same or different) released three move Deathstalker films, Deathstalker 2 played like a comedy film, Deathstalker And Warriors from Hell weirdly changed into fantasy medieval movie, and Deathstalker 4 is more like stock-footage fest, despite the plot is different, while brought back Rick Hill from the first Deathstalker. Yeah, these four Deathstalker movies are weird…

So, could this remake worth it over the Corman’s take of Conan? Lets find out.


So the movie begins in the warzone with good’ol fashion blood and gore, where many soldiers with weirdly four metal plates on their heads were all killed by those menacing red warriors called “Dreadites”. But it wouldn’t be until we introduce our main hero and the former knight named “Deathstalker” to fight back those Dreadites. After steal a golden amulet from dying man in warzone, he should’ve realized this amulet is cursed that many assassins are coming after him from tavern to the forest. After a brief discussion to a box-head witch named Toralva, he walked in the cave to freeing a little wizard named “Doodat”. Upon learning about the amulet, they discovered this amulet came from returned ancient necromancer named “Necromemnon”, which is why Deathstalker got cursed by amulet for how many assassins, Dreadites and his former friend named Jotak are coming after him, so its up to Deathstalker, Doodat and a thief named Brisbayne to stop the curse and find the way to stop Necromemnon before unleashing a powerful demon called Sytor.


I find the story feels like a standard sword and sorcery adventure like something out of 1980s, again, ever since Conan came out. But to be fair, at least it actually has a nice execution for complex and yet, cheesy plot for fighting against the evil threat from being cursed by ancient item like an amulet. But one thing that I like to give, is some character development to some characters like Deathstalker from what we’ve learned rather than being a typical barbarian, especially learning what happened to his past like when he used to be partnered with Jotak before he turned against him. Even though I wish if they could give us more depth like Doodat (kinda) and Brisbayne, but that’s just me. Although they also add humors in this movie, which I will say, I did received some chuckle moments that can work, along with some made me laugh from some deliveries. Though some jokes can get weak from either questionable names (though I may like some) or some cheap pop culture reference, but at least the culture reference is very minimal.


As for the presentation,, it looks pretty nice what they’ve done. Though if im guessing, the budget is much cheaper than say, The Toxic Avenger 2023(25), im assuming less than $100K, since as I mentioned, they made a campaign to do their own remake and they got it.


The way they filmed look actually pretty good from filming in the forest, the tavern, the village, the cave and ruined castle to Necromemnon’s fortress. Though the most common where they filmed is outdoor for the forest, the village and couple others they filmed, while others like tavern, the cave and the fortress were done on set, I think. The setting looks pretty good, even if they can be look cheap, but il give credit what they’re trying.


The action scenes are not bad, some choreograph aren’t perfect for the sword fight, but again, il give credit they did the best for the sword fight and even some creative moments like when Jotak had bone-like spear after he lost his hand to pull a dirty move for injury or death. Or even a mummy-like monster named Scarabus with buzzsaw chain for a brutal slash or dismemberment. Speaking of violence, in typical B movie fashion, its no stranger to giving us a good’ol gory kills from slicing limbs, decapitation and other brutal kills, and its no stranger that a lot of fights and kills were done via practical effects. Good love those practical gore. Although they also one time did the CG effect how some characters got stabbed though the heart, that was one done with CG, but to be fair, at least the CG looks okay, not like the cringing PS1 graphical CG effects.


Since this is a sword and sorcery, they gave some of the most unique costume and creature designs and monster designs, which I find some of them pretty fascinated, standard and badass, whether be a Dreadites armors, a walking rock soldier with pebble laser eyes, a two heads troll and some gave us a nice reminder, like the Pigman that brought in from the OG Deathstalker films. I forgot to mention this movie has couple of Easter Eggs (if you’re lucky to be one of those people who’ve seen four Deathstalker films), one example (aside the Pigman) is the tavern simply called “Munkar’s Tavern”, who’s based on the first movie’s villain who happens to be an evil sorcerer who takes over the kingdom for his dark magic power. Though im quite surprised that there isn’t any scantly clad ladies around in this remake, its more focus on unique and gory than sexual. Its a shame we didn’t have any hot ladies around, but eh. And lastly, il give a credit for the composure for playing the mix orchestral fantasy to badass to playing rock music with guitar, definitely fitting to show how Badass Deathstalker is.


Speaking of which, when It comes to the characters, I find some characters are pretty nice, along with some actors did a fun job for their action, how they’re written and their delivery.


When it comes to Deathstalker himself (played by Daniel Bernhardt), I find him to be nicely written how he’s developed, gone for being a barbarian from the original, he plays more of an anti-hero for killing monsters and bad guys on his way and kind of being no-nonsense, as a former knight and used to be former friend of Jotak. I actually find the portrayal of Deathstalker is pretty good for, again, how he’s developed, being a badass former knight on his journey before dealing with the evil threat from Necromemnon, along with unlikely forming his party for his quest. And Daniel did a good work of his performance, especially this is the same guy who’s been in many movies back then, along with stunt choreograph


As for the rest of the character, I find them to be hit or miss, there’s Doodat (played by Laurie Field with voiced by Patton Oswalt) who’s a little wizard who gives us plot development about the amulet and a comic relief for his skill issue for magic missile and some of his questionable humor, Brisbayne (played by Christina Orjalo) is an unlikely thief who likes to looting, playing with flute and wrist blades (Assassin’s Creed style), Jotak (played by Paul Lazenby) is a secondary antagonist who’s resurrected from decapitation and takes his anger against his former friend Deathstalker, Grendul (played by Nina Bergman) who’s a proud and oblivious thief leader, and Necromemnon (played by Nicholas Rice), the ancient necromancer and the main villain where his goal is to bring evil force to unleash Sytor, along with giving us his cheesiest performance, but sometimes some moments he made me laugh from his delivery.


In the end, out of all the remakes I’ve watch, I think I actually enjoy this movie what they’ve came up with, especially after raised the money from their Kickstarter campaign, like, ithink they accomplished it.


The writing is pretty good, the story is standard with well executed writing for the developments, the presentation looks good for low budget, the characters are good, the actors have a nice performances and the action scenes are pretty good too with blood and gore.


Though its nowhere perfect with numerous issues like some jokes are hit or miss and while some characters are good, but maybe I would like to give some for extra development.


While its not as big attention as many of big budget movies today, but I think this remake is pretty underrated. If you’re a fan of sword and sorcery, or a sick fan with blood and gore like me, I recommend to check it out. Its nowhere perfect, but at least they did a good job for this movie after campaign.


And that’s all for my mini review, tell me what you think in the comments bellow.

Thanks for reading, and im Anthony, signing out.